Recipe Box: Sausage, Spinach, & Cheese Egg Muffin

Standard

Have you ever been on Pinterest and found a pin so inspiring, that you knew you HAD to try it? I’m pretty sure it’s like that every time you log in…me too!

I found this pin for a really awesome, super easy, incredibly convenient egg muffin recipe that was featured on Simply Stacie. The thing is, I ONLY eat my eggs in egg white form. I’ve tried since I was a child to give eggs a chance. I’ve had them scrambled, smothered, covered, fried, and every where in between, but the only time I can or will eat them is if they are in egg white form. I think it has something to do with the gummy texture created by the yolk.

When I saw this recipe, I knew that I was going to be making it for hubby, but why should he get all the glory of a delicious meal? Naturally, I was inspired to create this delectable treat and put my own spin on it! Check out the recipe and the revisions below and of course, make it your own!

Recipe Box: Sausage Spinach and Cheddar Egg White Muffins via @soainspired

 

Ingredients

Original Recipe

6-8 strips of bacon, chopped

1/2 large onion, chopped

1 1/2 cups cheddar cheese, shredded

2-3 cups of spinach

12 eggs

cooking spray

SOAinspired

1/2 link turkey sausage, chopped and cooked

1 cup sharp cheddar cheese, shredded

2/3 cups of spinach, chopped

6 egg whites

1/2 cup almond milk

cooking spray or butter, melted

Directions

Preheat oven to 350°F and butter muffin pan with cooking spray or butter.

Beat together eggs, add almond milk, chopped spinach and shredded cheese and mix. Set aside

In frying pan on the stove, cook sausage over medium heat until light brown. Remove from heat and let cool for five minutes.

Add sausage to egg mixture and mix well. Gently pour mix into muffin pan about 3/4 full. Cook for 15-20 minutes or until edges are golden.

Remove from oven and let cool for 5-7 minutes then carefully remove from pan.

Eat and Enjoy!

Recipe Box-Sausage Spinach Cheddar Egg White Muffin-1 via @soainspired

Inspired? Share it!

