Style-spiration: Unphased

Standard

I lost a client last week.

Well to be fair, they hadn’t signed on to be a client yet. However, based on very tense and detailed discussions, they had already started to feel like clients. When they dropped the bomb on me that they didn’t want to continue based on their already bloated budget, I easily could have got mad. I had already put in close to 10 hours of work causing my other confirmed work to fall behind since it was a pop up opportunity. I could have sent them an invoice for work already completed peppered with sarcasm and disdain, but for what?

Unphased-stylespiration-soainspired

I try to be a great example for both my interns and my colleagues. I try to show them that situations like this happens in the world of entrepreneurship. My pr assistant asked me if I was mad and what I was going to do. I told her this,

At the end of the day, I did my job. I went in there and presented them with an amazing proposal and took their vision so far out of the box that they didn’t even know that it could be done. I was courteous, nice, and stern about what I was worth in order to execute. If they were unable to deliver for what ever reason, that has nothing to do with me. I choose to believe that the Universe is conspiring in my favor and preparing me for an even bigger opportunity.

You are in control of your emotions. You control how you react to what happens to you. You can either be controlled by the negative or control the negative, using it as motivation for something positive.

stylespiration-unphased-soainspired-quote

The way you react to things that don’t go your way is directly correlated to what will happen next. If you come out of a situation knowing and believing you did your absolute best, you will be rewarded.

If you go into a situation knowing that you are going above and beyond to deliver the best service, project, presentation, speech, product, and all of the above at the end of the day THAT is what matters.

soainspired-unphased-stylespiration-1

So if someone decides that they can’t afford you or that your vision is too grand or that you are too much…come out of it unphased, you did your best anyway.

Inspired? Share it!

