Inspiration from #GIRLBOSS

Standard

If you’ve been living under a rock for the last couple of months, Sophia Amoruso–founder of Nasty Gal–released her first book, #GIRLBOSS.

To me it was one part semi-autobiography, two parts inspirational, a dash of sarcastic realism and all parts awesome sauce.

Sophia details her pathway to building her multi-million dollar empire that is Nasty Gal by sharing her affinity for starting jobs and quickly quitting them. I can totally identify with her here because I am the type to quit a job that I can see will be a total waste of my time and career goals. She then goes on to share how she started Nasty Gal as an eBay store to make some extra money and found that it was a passion of hers. She says she set out to sell vintage clothing and found herself building a business.

This book was filled with quotables that I created a running list of on my phone, but some of the best ones were the ones that had illustrations created for them. Like…

#GIRLBOSS illustrations

Much of the time we get frustrated with making our dreams a reality or taking on a new goal because we want to believe that we have to go down the same path as everyone else. I’m here to cosign with Sophia, “the straight and narrow is NOT the only path to success.” You may find that you’ll travel in circles before you find the path that’s right for you. And don’t get me started on the backtracking, the shortcuts, and the alternate routes!

#GIRLBOSS: Bet on Yourself

I think this was my most favorite theme of the book. The reason Sophia Amoruso is now worth millions is because she bet on herself. When her mom begged her to get her life together, when other eBay merchants tried to force her out of business, even when her previous bosses fired her, Sophia ALWAYS bet on herself.

I can’t tell you how many times my mother called my growing empire, “little business” before she started to understand that what she saw as a little business was a big dream for me. When it comes to accomplishing something in your heart, the one person you can count on to have your back is yourself…all you have to do is bet on yourself.

#GIRLBOSS by Sophia Amoruso

#GIRLBOSS by Sophia Amoruso was an amazing book for girls and guys alike. If you’re looking for a book that reads like a conversation but inspires you to love yourself and what you do, this is definitely the next book you should pick up. Sophia didn’t pay me for this post, but you should definitely pay her for the gems she dropped in the book!

#GIRLBOSS is available on Amazon and Nastygal.com and you can pick it up at your nearest big box book store.

2 thoughts on “Inspiration from #GIRLBOSS

  1. 180daystohappy

    I read this book and it is AMAZING!!!! Such an easy read and she truly dropped gems!!!! I think I read this book at the perfect time, because it truly made me stop second guessing myself. Just like she did, you just have to start! Great post

    • Thank you! This is definitely a book that I plan to re-read. I loved how it was written as if we were talking to her. She truly is an inspiration. You definitely have to just believe in yourself and just do the work. Loved this book, it’s now in my top 10! Thanks for commenting!

Inspired? Share it!

