Style-spiration: Camo Inspired, but I’m not hiding

Standard

Camouflage. Created so that one could hide in the background and not stand out.

Stylspiration: Camo Inspired via SOAinspired

Certainly, this outfit is a far cry from camo that we’re all used to, but it really inspired me. Yesterday, I wrote about my first keynote speech given at the Softer Touch Induction ceremony at Georgia State University. My speech discussed overcoming adversity.

It’s interesting to me, when we think of adversity we like to go to the extreme end of the spectrum. We like to think about people who grew up in broken homes. We think about illnesses. We even think about those who become consumed by internal adversity, but how can we forget the everyday adversities that we go through?

The ones we feel when we look in the mirror and don’t appreciate what we see that day. Or when we feel like a failure for not going to the gym at all this week. Or when we forget to get an important task done. All of these seem like hits to our self-esteem, but once it’s over…we forget about it.

Stylespiration: Camo Inspired, but I'm Not Hiding via SOAinspired

What if we adopted a similar attitude towards the big adversities? What if we learned to not allow our adversities, our failures, or our weaknesses hinder us from being the best version of ourselves? The quicker you recognize that your flaws and mistakes are more for your benefit, the more you’ll appreciate them for making you better.

As I was editing some of these pics, I wanted so badly to photoshop my waist…but you know what? I’m not going to hide who I am. I’m going to embrace it. I’m going to continue to embrace me. I’m going to work hard to narrow my waistline without the help of the cut tool.

SOAinspired

Don’t camouflage who you are in favor of who you think you want to be. Embrace your flaws and all, they’ll make you better and they make you…you.


 

Style Credits

Dress: Talbots (similar) | Necklace: Vintage | Bag: Thrifted | Shoes: Forever21

Inspired? Share it!

