Monday Motivation: Rest up

Standard

I often have conversations with my friends, mentees, mentors, and colleagues about the need to get rest. Our bodies aren’t meant to go continuously…actually NO ONE AND NOTHING is meant to go continuously. Birds know when to rest. Even plants know when to rest. So why then do we, the human race, think we are above getting the necessary rest we need to function and live well?

My official rest day is Sunday. Typically, I have no clients, no meetings, no events, no obligations but to sleep late into the day and do nothing. It’s my Sabbath day. I think we all need a day to recoup, recharge, and rejuvenate.

Maya-Angelou-on-taking-time-out-for-yourself

This past weekend was quite the world wind for me. It was full of adventure, meetings, events, and of course frolicking. The sun was out in Atlanta and the days were long and beautiful. By the time I finally got settled home on Sunday, I was rest broken and grumpy (my husband calls it sleegy…sleepy + angry). Today, I knew I had to get all the rest I could and relaxed majority of the day…hence why your Monday Motivation is at 3:30 in the afternoon.

Rest is important for all of us to be our best selves. For the creatives, it’s the time when you brain can relax and make room for more creative ideas. For the hard working, it’s the time your body recoups from moving around so much. And for everyone, it’s vital to our health. Don’t let anyone tell you that you have to get less sleep to do more!

Inspired? Share it!

