Recipe Box: Oversized Stuffed Meatballs with Penne Pasta

Standard

I think I was an Italian grandmother in one of my past lives. I LIVE for Italian. I find that I am the most inspired by Italian cooking, but don’t get it twisted…I will tear up some Jamaican food!

When I made this recipe, I knew I wanted pasta however I knew I didn’t just want your regular every day spaghetti and meatballs. I wanted to jazz up my Italian in the most gluttonous of ways. It’s amazing what 1/2 lbs of ground turkey and italian blend cheese packet can do to your boring, every day cooking. Check out the recipe and of course make it your own! Stay tuned for more recipes…and dare I say videos (probably not, lol!) that you can get inspired by!

Recipes, Pasta recipes, meatball recipes, Italian inspired dishes

Ingredients:

1/2 lbs ground turkey (85% lean)

1 egg

2 tbsp bread crumbs

1 tbsp Italian seasoning (I used Mrs. Dash)

3 tsp garlic powder (I love garlic so I tend to use more)

3 tsp onion powder

3 tsp paprika

dash of salt and pepper

1 tbsp minced garlic (optional)

1/4 cup chopped onions (optional)

1/2 box of penne pasta

1 1/2 jar of Prego traditional pasta sauce (or your favorite pasta sauce)

Package of Kraft Italian blend cheese

Olive oil (for coating)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°. Coat medium sized glass dish and set to the side. Place a large pan/skillet on stove set to low-medium heat and coat with olive oil.

Cook pasta according to package directions. When done, cool under cold water to stop the cooking process. Transfer back to post with pasta sauce and let simmer on low heat. (add more sauce if you like your pasta wetter)

Mix ground turkey, egg, bread crumbs, spices, garlic, and onions in a medium sized bowl. (pull up your sleeves and really mix those ingredients too). Scoop out 1/2 cup sized portions and place in hand, roll into a ball then poke thumb into the center of ball. Make sure hole is deep enough to place cheese inside, but not going through the opposite end. Widen hole then place a few tablespoons of cheese inside. Scoop a little bit more ground turkey mixture and place over top of hole, rolling gently to reform ball.

Place ball into pan (now turned to medium-high heat) and continue until you’ve made four large balls. They should be just about the size of a tennis ball. Cook meatballs on all sides for about 3-5 minutes. Add 1/2 jar of pasta sauce and let simmer on low for another 5 (or so) minutes.

Place pasta into glass dish and coat with cheese (optional). Add meatballs on top of pasta, coat with sauce from pan and cover with cheese. Put into oven  for about 15 minutes, let cool for about 10 minutes and EAT!

Inspired? Share it!

