What’s Old is New

Image

Have you ever noticed that we are constantly inspired by the old? Think about how you learned in school. You learned about things that existed before you or your parents were event an idea. Think about fashion! Some our favorite current styles are inspirations from the past.

SOA-Inspired-Whats-Old-is-New-Style-spiration

Sweater: Lily Kai Vintage | Skirt: Vintage | Shoes: Zara | Clutch: Kenneth Cole |  Necklace: Forever 21 | Bracelet: Loulie by Lindsey

That’s what inspired me with this outfit. My style has a lot of inspiration from the feminine styles of the 50s, 60s, and even the 80s. This outfit has a hint of 50s with the midi A-line skirt and a pop of 80s with this sweater. I guess you could say I like to mix it up!

As I coaxed Hubby into taking these quick shots before heading out to Arkeedah McCormick’s Women In PR event, I was inspired by the many things from the past that have inspired everything about me.

SOA-Inspired-Whats-Old-is-New-Style-spiration

Lessons of Jamaica from my mother. Cultural  inspiration from my Nigerian father. History lessons from school. They’ve all shaped who I am and what I know. If we would take a moment to revisit the past, we can easily see where our future is going.

What is something old that you’ve made new?

Inspired,

SOA

Inspired? Share it!

